22nd Apr2014

Episode 86 – ECCC: Paul Allor, Curt Pires & Jason Copland!

by Chris Thompson

With Paul Allor, Curt Pires & Jason Copland …
 
After last week’s chat with Cullen Bunn (which you can still listen to here), this time around I present the first of three episodes recorded live at Emerald City Comicon.
 
In this first instalment I chat with Paul Allor & Curt Pires to find out what’s been happening since we last spoke. Then I catch up with Jason Copland – whose brand new series POP! (with the aforementioned Curt Pires) was announced at the show by Dark Horse Comics.
 
To get in touch, send feedback or submit projects for consideration, please email reviews@popculturehound.com. And if you missed last week’s episode (or any others) you can find them right here or subscribe via iTunes. You can also support the Pop Culture Hound podcast by clicking here to make a donation or pressing the DONATE button below. Your contributions are greatly appreciated and will help us maintain the site, get new equipment, and encourage us to keep going on those cold lonely nights.





 
Chris Thompson Twitter: @popculturehound
Orbital Comics’ website: www.orbitalcomics.com
 
Paul Allor’s Twitter: @PaulAllor
Paul Allor’s website: paulallor.com
 
Curt Pires’ Twitter: @CurtPires
Curt Pires’ website: curtpires.com
 
Jason Copland’s Twitter: @JasonCopland
Jason Copland’s website: jasoncopland.com

03rd Oct2013

Episode 58 – Blue Is The Warmest Color with Julie Maroh!

by Chris Thompson

With Julie Maroh …
 
After talking Write or Wrong with Dirk Manning last week (which you can listen to here) and discussing film composition with Before Midnight‘s Graham Reynolds (which you can listen to here), we bring the world of comics and film together in this fascinating discussion with writer/artist Julie Maroh (Blue Is The Warmest Color, Skandalon).
 
You’ve probably heard of Julie’s book Le Bleu est une Couleur Chaude, which won the Fnac-SNCF Essential prize (as selected by the public) at the 2011 Angoulême International Comics Festival, and was recently translated into English as Blue Is The Warmest Colour by Arsenal Pulp Press. The book has also been adapted into a film (La Vie d’Adèle) which won the Palme d’Or at this year’s Cannes Film Festival.
 
We talk about how she got into comics, what it’s like to have such major success so early in your career, the perils and pitfalls of having your work developed in other media, what responsibilities she feels as a creator, and where she plans to take her career beyond Skandalon.
 
To get in touch, send feedback or submit projects for consideration, please email reviews@popculturehound.com. And if you missed last week’s episode (or any others) you can find them right here or subscribe via iTunes.
 
You can also support the Pop Culture Hound podcast by clicking here to make a donation or pressing the DONATE button below. Your contributions are greatly appreciated and will help us maintain the site, get new equipment, and encourage us to keep going on those cold lonely nights.





 
Chris Thompson’s Twitter: @popculturehound
Orbital Comics’ website: www.orbitalcomics.com
 
Julie Maroh’s website: www.juliemaroh.com
Glénat’s website: www.glenat.com
Arsenal Pulp’s website: www.arsenalpulp.com
 
And you can read Julie’s statement about the film (as discussed on the podcast) right here:
sd-4.archive-host.com/membres/up/204771422545612119/Adele_blue.pdf