22nd Apr2014

Episode 86 – ECCC: Paul Allor, Curt Pires & Jason Copland!

by Chris Thompson

With Paul Allor, Curt Pires & Jason Copland …
 
After last week’s chat with Cullen Bunn (which you can still listen to here), this time around I present the first of three episodes recorded live at Emerald City Comicon.
 
In this first instalment I chat with Paul Allor & Curt Pires to find out what’s been happening since we last spoke. Then I catch up with Jason Copland – whose brand new series POP! (with the aforementioned Curt Pires) was announced at the show by Dark Horse Comics.
 
To get in touch, send feedback or submit projects for consideration, please email reviews@popculturehound.com. And if you missed last week’s episode (or any others) you can find them right here or subscribe via iTunes. You can also support the Pop Culture Hound podcast by clicking here to make a donation or pressing the DONATE button below. Your contributions are greatly appreciated and will help us maintain the site, get new equipment, and encourage us to keep going on those cold lonely nights.





 
Chris Thompson Twitter: @popculturehound
Orbital Comics’ website: www.orbitalcomics.com
 
Paul Allor’s Twitter: @PaulAllor
Paul Allor’s website: paulallor.com
 
Curt Pires’ Twitter: @CurtPires
Curt Pires’ website: curtpires.com
 
Jason Copland’s Twitter: @JasonCopland
Jason Copland’s website: jasoncopland.com

05th Dec2012

Episode 18 – with Ryan Ferrier from Challenger Comics!

by Chris Thompson

With Ryan Ferrier …
 
Taylor and I have mixed views about this week’s Marvel Now! books, and find we don’t see eye-to-eye with Daniel Way’s Thunderbolts #1 or Jonathan Hickman’s much-anticipated Avengers #1.
 
Taylor also chats with Ryan Ferrier (Tiger Lawyer and Challenger Comics) about his career thus far, how Challenger came to be, and where things are going next. Plus we enjoy our first sample of BrewDog Craft Beers, starting with their classic 5am Saint.
 
To get in touch, discuss sponsorship opportunities or submit projects for consideration, please email reviews@popculturehound.com. You can also follow me on Twitter: @popculturehound. And if you missed last week’s episode (or any others) you can find them right here or subscribe via iTunes. You can also support the Pop Culture Hound podcast by clicking on the DONATE button below. Your contributions will help us maintain the site, get new equipment, and encourage us to keep going on those cold lonely nights.





 
Taylor Lilley Twitter: @capelessT
 
Ryan Ferrier Twitter: @ryanwriter
Ryan Ferrier’s website: rferrier.tumblr.com
 
Tiger Lawyer website: tigerlawyer.tumblr.com
Challenger Comics website: readchallenger.com

07th Nov2012

Episode 13 – with Kieron Gillen, Paul Allor & Marvel Now!

by Chris Thompson

With Kieron Gillen & Paul Allor …
 
We’ve got a massive episode for you this week, folks! Aside from continuing our slow & steady investigation of Marvel Now! with Deadpool #1 and Iron Man #1, we also present not one but TWO interviews for your listening pleasure.
 
First up, I chat with acclaimed writer Kieron Gillen (Journey Into Mystery, Phonogram) about his new gig on Iron Man and what plans he has for the character. Then Taylor catches up with the elusive Paul Allor (who we previously discussed in Episode 11) to talk Orc Girl, Clockwork Comics, and what’s coming up next.
 
To get in touch, discuss sponsorship opportunities or submit projects for consideration, please email reviews@popculturehound.com. You can also follow me on Twitter: @popculturehound. And if you missed last week’s episode (or any others) you can find them right here or subscribe via iTunes. You can also support the Pop Culture Hound podcast by clicking on the DONATE button below. Your contributions will help us maintain the site, get new equipment, and encourage us to keep going on those cold lonely nights.





 
Taylor Lilley Twitter: @capelessT
 
Kieron Gillen Twitter: @kierongillen
Kieron’s website: kierongillen.com
 
Paul Allor Twitter: @PaulAllor
Paul’s website: clockworkcomic.com
 
Challenger Comics’ website: readchallenger.com
 
And if you want to read a preview of Orc Girl (then buy it for yourself!) click here: readchallenger.com/2012/10/orc-girl-from-paul-allor-thomas-boatwright

Off
17th Oct2012

Episode 11 – with Paul Allor, Larry Tye & Marvel Now!

by Chris Thompson

With Larry Tye …
 
Join Taylor & I as we have an in-depth discussion about the six new tales featured in Marvel Now! Point One – which form an introduction to the upcoming Secret Avengers, Guardians of the Galaxy, Nova, Young Avengers, FF, and Cable & X-Force series.

From there we shift gears to throw the spotlight on up-and-coming writer Paul Allor who has made his mark on the industry with Orc Girl, various short stories at clockworkcomic.com and, more recently, the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Fugitoid one-shot for IDW Publishing.

Finally I present my interview with Larry Tye (author of Superman: The High-Flying History of America’s Most Enduring Hero) from this year’s San Diego Comic-Con.
 
To get in touch, discuss sponsorship opportunities or submit projects for consideration, please email reviews@popculturehound.com. You can also follow me on Twitter: @popculturehound. And if you missed last week’s episode (or any others) you can find them right here or subscribe via iTunes. You can also support the Pop Culture Hound podcast by clicking on the DONATE button below. Your contributions will help us maintain the site, get new equipment, and encourage us to keep going on those cold lonely nights.





 
Taylor Lilley Twitter: @capelessT
 
Paul Allor Twitter: @PaulAllor
Paul Allor’s webcomics: http://clockwork.govtcomics.com/comics/clockwork-volume-1/
 
Larry Tye Twitter: @LarryTye
Larry Tye’s website: http://www.larrytye.com/
 
Collusion Over Creator’s Rights: www.co2comics.com/blog/2012/10/16/collusion-over-creators-rights

Off